André Gorz, Lettre à D. Histoire d’un Amour

I first read about this in the times late last year when French philosopher Andre Gorz and his wife Doreen committed a double suicide in an ultimate act of devotion to their love. I promptly became fascinated by their story and realised that Gorz had published a short novel as an ode to their relationship. It, of course, was only published in french so I began the search for any translated passages and hoped wildly that the book would one day also be translated in to the english (I love the way in translations it’s always ‘the’ french, or ‘the’ spanish).

So, I looked.

I looked in the foreign translations at waterstones, my local Daunt Books, amazon, etc etc and had pretty much given up on finding it and resigned myself to the fact that I would actually just have to learn french. But then, something crazy happened. I was with my darling friend Amanda in some random 2nd hand bookshop in Richmond (Melbourne, Australia) 2 weekends ago and the first book that stared me in the face was thus! It HAS been translated. Anyway, I bought it. I went home to my serviced apartment and read the whole thing and then have proceeded to crap on about it to anyone who will (pretend to) listen.

I insisted that my paramour read it on his MEL – CDG flight on Saturday and he even admitted that he enjoyed it, despite it not being a “man’s book”.

Anyway, go read up on it. It is a beautiful love story and we all need those..

A little quote:

“You’ve just turned 82. You are still beautiful, graceful and desirable. We’ve lived together now for 58 years and I love you more than ever. Lately I’ve fallen in love with you all over again and I once more carry inside me a gnawing emptiness that can only be filled by your body snuggled up against mine.”

One thought on “André Gorz, Lettre à D. Histoire d’un Amour

Leave a Reply

