words

I really enjoy words. Especially new words. Once you hear a new word, I mean really hear it, you tend to bump into it all over the place — and wonder how you ever existed in such ignorance before

take the word ‘avuncular’ as my example. Last night: watching Curb Your Enthusiasm Season Four (the brilliant schwimmer/stiller/david starring – or almost starring – in The Producers on Broadway), Larry drops the word in the midst of a diatribe and BANG I recognised that I did not recognise this foreign word.. Hit google define, realise it means ‘uncle-like’ (love that) and love larry david just a tiny bit more.

then, this morning, reading the observer, which word should I come across? yep.  and I skimmed on past it ready for the next one….

Leave a Reply

